Stepper motor works erratically with Pololu A4988 drive

Hi Guys,

Second go at this, wrote it the first time and managed to close the tab while I was trying to post this… :imp:

So, I bought these stepper drivers for micro stepping https://www.pololu.com/product/1183 to be used for these motors http://www.haydonkerk.com/LinearActuatorProducts/StepperMotorLinearActuators/LinearActuatorsCanstack/26000Series/tabid/89/Default.aspx

The Step motor part number is E26544-12-020 which would be a 12Vdc, 0.14A/per phase, 4 wire bipolar and 15degree/step.

I have the driver connected to my Arduino Adk ( with a arduino Wifi shield mounted) as per the instructions on the pololu site.

The 12Vdc power supply used for motors is from a PC power supply rated at 12Vdc and 8A max.

Given I am new at coding and at electronics I decided to use the code in this link https://forum.pololu.com/t/a4983-and-a4988-getting-started-guide/2789/1 and the code is titled steppertester.pdf

So, this is how the events unfold.

1. After I had the setup complete and supply switched on I loaded the code and the motor stepped in a random direction and started buzzing with no further motion at all.

2. I switched off the power supply immediately and had a quick look at the wiring and switched it On again, mind you all this time the for loop is running in the code as I hadnt disconnected the micro controller.

3. Without making any changes ( all appeared ok) I switch the power supply to the motors on again and noticed the same result,I then touched the casing of the motor and it was very hot.

4. I switched off again, had a look at literature and I realised I hadn’t limited the driver current.