Prusa i3 build: A4988 black edition fried, checking voltage

Hi everyone, hope this is the right forum section for my thread. And I’m a bit new to this, so please bear with my stupid questions :). I googled around for all the stuff I’m going to ask, even on these boards, but didn’t find a satisfactory answer…

So last night I finally finished building and wiring my Prusa i3 kit. I double-checked all the connections, and everything seemed fine. I first connected the Ramps 1.4 board (Arduino mega 2560+Pololu shield) to the PC with the USB cable, uploaded the firmware, everything seemed fine. I then connected the PSU to the board, again everything seemed fine (the fan on the PSU didn’t start spinning, but I guess it only does it when needed?). I then wanted to adjust the voltage on the A4988 black edition stepper drivers (had all 4 connected). First of all measuring the voltage gave nothing, 0 V. So I slowly tried to increase voltage using the trimpot and a screwdriver. Again, nothing happens, and before I have time to measure the voltage I hear a frying sound and smoke comes out of the board. I immediately unplugged the PSU and a few seconds later disconnected all components.

Everything seems to have survived except the stepper driver I was adjusting (how do I check this?). The Ramps is detected by the PC and I manage to upload things to it, so I guess it’s OK. The only time it doesn’t start up when I connect it to the PC is when I have the fried stepper driver plugged in.

I’m still not sure what happened, and I find it really hard to adjust the voltage on the stepper driver. Especially as the anchor/stop on two of the trimpots is a bit broken, so the trimpot screw can be turned freely. Does this matter? How do I check that everything survived? I have one spare stepper driver, but they’re not cheap (and neither is the ramps) so I’m a little apprehensive to try again. What could have gone wrong? I’ll gladly provide more details if needed.

Thanks in advance.

edit