24VDC Motor Control Question from a Novice

I will admit I am a novice at motor controllers. I am a Chemical Engineer and an avid woodworker for 15+ years now.

I have a power wheelchair motor that I would like to drive with a 24VDC power source. I already tested and the power source and motor are operational.

The goal is to use the motor to operate a threaded shaft that will drive a carriage (holding a router) back and forth in between 2 contacts.

I was thinking of using a latching type relay with a DPDT that would change the polarity of power feeding the motor. But now I think a Pololu simple motor controller might work. Being a ChemEng I don’t want to have to learn programming in order to get this functional. The more simple the better, something I can diagnose and fix easily.

For contacts I was thinking simple push buttons to act as momentary switches, but I’m not sure how I would get the controller to interpret that as reversing directions (polarity). Would I have to have one contact be a latching relay type of connection and the other would break that latch?

Really any help would be appreciated.

-Ivan

Hello, Ivan.

I am not entirely sure how you are proposing to use the relays and switches you mentioned together, but a DPDT switch will allow you to reverse the polarity of your power supply to switch motor direction. If you post a diagram that shows how you intend to connect everything, I might be able to make suggestions.

As you already mentioned, you could also use the Simple Motor Controller to switch motor direction. However, you would probably have to write a program to get it to change motor directions after encountering a limit switch.

In general, wheelchair motors are pretty powerful, and it sounds like you might be switching from full speed forward to full speed reverse, which could cause the current draw to be twice the stall current. So, you should make sure the Simple Motor Controller you choose can handle that current.