Using Dual VNH3SP30 Motor Driver with arduino

Hi,

I should control 12v wipermotors with Dual VNH3SP30 Motor Driver with arduino. I’m a quite newbie when it comes to electronics. Could some one tell me what pins of the VNH3SP30 should I connect to get control to the motors. The motor pins and supply pins at the right side are quite clear but which pins of the left side should be connected to arduino. I’m confused coz there’s more pins than assumed there to be. For example there is plenty of those 5v pins? So which are required to drive motors at the desired speed and direction.

My Best Regards
samuli

Hello,

Have you looked at the datasheet? Page 7 shows a truth table and typical application. INA and INB set direction, PWM is for PWM (outputs according to INA and INB when high, outputs disabled when low), CS is the current sense output, and DIAG is the error output.

I don’t know what you’re talking about regarding “plenty of those 5v pins”. I see one. There are a couple of extra VIN pins on the left side; those are just for your convenience since the main supply (VIN) often will be your microcontroller supply.

- Jan

Thank you for your reply!

I didn’t notice the datasheet under that tab. Now I found it. Thanks.

I get the PWM pulse signal from arduino. So I input that to PWM and i need other two digital signals to choose the direction. Then I also need +5v to en/diag -pins and a supply +5V. Right. Then I connect my motors and kick in the (for example) +12V main supply voltage. Then I got my pololu and motors up and running. Did I get this correct?

When I said “plenty of those 5v pins” I ment those vin -pins. I didn’t quite understand what is the purpose of those. Is it enough if I input a logic supply 5v to + 5V (in) -pin and leave the rest vin-pins unconnected?

Is it safe to connect arduino directly to pololu or is some safe circuits or components needed?