Using multiple 18v7 motor controller on Raspberry Pi

Hello everyone,

I’m a complete noob to linux and raspberry pi so forgive me if this is a simple question.

I have a project that I’m using that needs to run 4 DC motors so I got a 18v7 motor controller to try to use one before buying 3 more. I saw that I could chain a bunch of them together using TTL serial and so far that’s the plan. How do I go about interfacing with multiple motor controllers on the Pi’s GPIO pins?

Or are there other options like using the USB ports on the Pi or having the Pi go through an Arduino?

Thanks!

Hello.

You can see connection diagrams and find a description that explains how to connect multiple Simple Motor Controllers (SMCs) to a microcontroller for TTL serial control under the “Daisy Chaining” section of the Simple Motor Controller user’s guide, which you can find under the Resources tab of its product page. Your chain of SMCs should connect to the Raspberry Pi’s hardware serial pins. The Pololu Protocol (which is described under the “Binary Commands” section of the guide) explains how to send commands to individual boards when they are daisy-chained together .

-Jon

Hey thanks a bunch for the info.

I ended up ordering a set of four 18v15 motor controllers. My project’s motors needed a bit more current than I originally had planned.

Anyway, I have the circuit built with the Pi and the motor controllers. The motor controllers are all daisy chained to the TX and GND pins of the Pi. I’m going for the simple route for the time being, without the error codes and the like.

Now… the real question is how do I go about using the software available on the Pi to send out the binary commands?

Would it be easier to have an arduino act as an interface between the Pi and the motor controllers? I have the Arduino example code running just fine for one controller, I’m going to try to test the daisy chaining via Arduino within the next few days.