A4988 Stepper Motor Driver Setup

Hi,
I am new to stepper motors and cannot figure out how to connect my A4988 Stepper Motor Driver, I am using a Orangutan 1284 micro-controller and am using my servo wires/programming(Which cannot be correct?)
My setup is the following, what am I doing wrong:

VMOT: Hobby 5.10 volt battery.
GND: Ground for the above battery.
2B: Stepper motor pair 1 of 2
2A: Stepper motor pair 2 of 2
1A: Stepper motor pair 1 of 2
1B: Stepper motor pair 2 of 2
VDD: 4.8 volts from MCU pin, programmed high
GND: Ground for the above
EN: Nothing here
MS1: Nothing here
MS2: Nothing here
MS3: Nothing here
RST: Jumped to SLP
SLP:
STEP: Servo pin#0(pin farthest to the right)
DIR: Ground from Servo #0

Where does everything go? I cannot get this to work. Please diagram your answer like I did above.
Also, how do you program a stepper motor on Atmel 6.2? What is the command word, its not on the svp-1284 user guide.
Please help, Thanks in advance!

[quote]2B: Stepper motor pair 1 of 2
2A: Stepper motor pair 2 of 2
1A: Stepper motor pair 1 of 2
1B: Stepper motor pair 2 of 2[/quote]
The above makes no sense.
You have two windings. One winding goes to 1A and 1B, the other to 2A and 2B.

[quote]STEP: Servo pin#0(pin farthest to the right)
DIR: Ground from Servo #0[/quote]
The above also makes no sense. What is a servo pin?
You should connect STEP and DIR to two digital output pins on the microprocessor. Set the pins HIGH and LOW to step and change direction.

You should not attempt use an MCU output pin to power the motor driver.

What is that? Does it produce voltage in the range of 8-35V as required by the motor driver?
Can it provide the current required by the stepping motors?
What stepping motors are you intending to use?

Carefully follow the instructions and clear wiring diagram here: pololu.com/product/1182